When organizations are using complex and structured guidance, it is needed to have the possibility to target different users (groups of users) with the specific content based on relevant criteria such as for example their roles, user experience level or others.
Sometimes it is necessary to make only some part of the content visible to the users or to remind a specific group of users with the autostart journeys.
The described options have been supported by Visibility rules so far. Segmentation allows to manage such use cases on the better level avoiding large rule duplication.
How to create Segments:
The Segment Editor is available in the Editor menu or you can access it using the F9 key.
- A new Segment can be created using + button
- Fill in Segment name (it is the only mandatory field)
- Fill in Segment description (optional)
- Use Add new Rule button in order to add one or more rules from the dropdown menu (it is also optional and Segment can be created even without rules)
- Segment can be deleted - if you click on three dots on the Segment name level, you can use Delete button
- Segment can be edited - anytime you access the selected Segment in Segment Editor, you can make any changes here
Saving Segment from Journey/Tip Edit dialog
There is also another way how to create a Segment:
- First set Visibility/Autostart rule(s) in Journey/Tip Edit dialog
- Click Save as Segment button
- Then you are navigated directly to the Segment Editor and you can see the new saved Segment with prefilled rules specified before in the Journey/Tip Edit dialog and you can edit the Segment name and description
How to apply Segments:
Segment without rules
Segments which have only name (and description eventually) and no rules specified can be assigned to a Journey (or a Tip) without any impact on its visibility. It can be used in order to divide or sort the content (for example based on the roles of users). Such kind of sorting is very useful in Analytics where the reporting data can be filtered based on selected Segments.
Segment with specified rules
If there are some rules included in the Segment, such rules will have an impact on the visibility of a Journey (Tip) having that specific Segment assigned (the same way as Visibility rules are applied).
How to assign a Segment to a Journey
In the Journey Edit dialog under the Visibility tab, click the "+ Assign Segment" button. The dropdown menu appears and you can select from the list of available Segments:
Once you select the specific Segment, it appears in the Assigned segments section:
You can continue assigning more Segments to the Journey (Using the same way, Segments can be assigned to the Tips).
In case that multiple Segments are assigned to the Journey, "or" operator is applied then. It means that user needs to match at least one of the Segments.
If you want to unassign Segment, you can click the cross button and it will get removed from the list of Assigned Segments for that specific journey:
Segments can be also used in Visibility and Autostart conditions. Please, find more information in another article:
Segments in Visibility/Autostart rules
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article